Take the suit off!


I wanted to share this story again today because I’ve praying for me son Dendrick to come to know who He is in Christ. He is gifted and talented and Holy Ghost filled, but like us all face some trials. Today it was a blessing to read his heartfelt prayer for the Sons & Daughters of the Promise group. He’s growing in wisdom of the word….please keep him lifted.

Here’s a story I wrote about him some months ago, God is working it out…be encouraged.

TAKE THE SUIT OFF!

2 Kings 5

My fourth child, Dendrick has been both a joy and challenge to raise. Out of all the children he is the one who has the most difficulty adapting to life, because he wants and thinks that everything must be done according to the Dendrick standard of law which says, “I said it and therefore it should be as I say!” He is the child whom I think has the greatest gifts (not saying that all don’t have gifts), but only that his are greater in the sense that he has a call on his life. But my son is very materialistic in his approach to life, he likes to dress well and does a good job at it…loves to be the center of attention, loves to receive gifts; simply put he loves stuff. As a result I believe this love of stuff has gotten in the way of his faith in God.

I remember a time when it seemed that he was continually acting out at school and no matter what I did or said to him nothing worked, so I decided to take him to my brother. Now if you’re a kid in our family a trip to the Bishop’s office can mean one of two things, you are getting rewarded or you’re in trouble. That Sunday when we arrived at church I immediately took him to Bishop’s office, he was there awhile. Later, right before service began he appeared all disheveled and crying. To make things worse, he appeared this way in front of a crowded congregation.

After church I get a call from Bishop saying that he had taken off his belt and was about to spank him when Dendrick said, “But Uncle I got on my suit!”

Bishop says, “Boy I don’t care about no suit TAKE IT OFF!”

Now that’s funny, but sadly shows how we can hide behind the stuff of the world to save us. Don’t we sometimes see achievement and success as having arrived? Sadly we think that we can get pass the things of God because of our titles and positions of authority. We want healing but when God tells us to do something that we find demeaning or beneath us, we whine and complain, but God we say, “I’ve got my suit on!”

Elisha sent a messenger to say to him, “Go, wash yourself seven times in the Jordan, and your flesh will be restored and you will be cleansed.” “ But Naaman went away angry and said, “I thought that he would surely come out to me and stand and call on the name of the LORD his God, wave his hand over the spot and cure me of my leprosy. Are not Abana and Pharpar, the rivers of Damascus, better than all the waters of Israel? Couldn’t I wash in them and be cleansed?” So he turned and went off in a rage.” (2 Kings 5:10-12).

My brother gave me these words, “don’t always look for a podium,” meaning that God will provide many opportunities for his word to go forth. Do I see talking and witnessing to the homeless of the world or those who are spiritually poor and needy as demeaning? No, I have had many opportunities to witness while feeding them breakfast and lunch, and sometimes it wasn’t a pretty sight….God is saying how low will you go for the kingdom? Be willing to get your hands dirty!!!

TAKE THE SUIT OFF…AND GIVE IT TO GOD!!! Wow!!!

Father we thank you that your word has gone forth and that we don’t have to hide behind the stuff of this life to claim victory…it is not about our titles or how we looked dressed up. It is about our work for the kingdom which requires submission. We thank you for revelation and insight and we give you praise…we want to remove the suit so that all they see is you!!! In Jesus name we pray. Amen.

Posted on September 19, 2012, in Children, Family, Life, Marriage, Men, Ministry, Parents, Women and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

