A Call to Shake the Nation and the Family


A CALL TO SHAKE THE NATIONS & THE FAMILY
Matthew 10: 33-39
“But whoever denies Me before men, I will also deny him before My Father who is in heaven.
Do not think that I came to bring peace (or even prosperity) on earth; I did not come to bring peace (or even prosperity), but a sword (war with My word of Truth).”
“ For I came to set a Man against his Father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter in law against her mother in law; and a man’s enemies will be members of his own household.”
“He who loves father or mother more than Me is not worthy of Me; and he who loves son or daughter more than Me is not worthy of Me. “And he who does not take his cross and follow after Me is not worthy of Me. “He who has found his life will lose it, and he who has lost his life for My sake will find it.” (Emphasis mine)
Our walk for God isn’t an easy one. Sometimes we have to go places that are not comfortable and that surely make no sense at all. I have read these verses many times and thought that this was a prophecy seeing that Moms and daughters, fathers and sons (alike) sometimes don’t get along well this had come to light. Remembering my own volatile relationship with my mother is probably the reason I thought this way; but this is not what God is saying here at all.
We have some rough stuff dealing with our families don’t we? I have been prepping my 12 year old to love a righteous life, been taking (sometimes dragging) her to church; urging her to read the word. At school encouraging her to stay focused, helping her to prepare her mind for higher learning, talking to her about the best high schools here, and the college she will attend(she has some say in all these), because she has a voice; always encouraging her to make sound decisions for herself. Amen.
So it was surprising when she came home the other day and said, “Mama, I don’t want to go to college when I finish high school!”
This was a surprise because ever since elementary school she had made it known to all who would listen was that she wanted to be a Heart Surgeon, Amen. She has the mind to help people and I can see her in that field. Well, she came home that day and exclaimed to me that she no longer wanted this, because she didn’t like math or school and that she wanted to be a movie star. Unfortunately, I didn’t take this too well, and told her after she had completed college and medical school she could do what she wanted with her life; that she could go to New York and learn to be an actor or whatever it is they do, but that she would have a stable livelihood until this happened for her; she agreed. But the reason she agreed was that I explained how hard it is for actors to break into that business, some of them take jobs like everyone else to survive; and still some never get in. We know that Persistence is key when dealing with our children.
But what about the child that came home one day and told his parents that he/she is gay or lesbian what is there to do in a situation like this? Of course if we are Christians and actually living for God, we know that this type of behavior is not of God…Amen. Many of us are facing this now, and still others have family members who live this life style. Even now some families have been torn apart because the child has felt abandoned and unaccepted because of their choice. What are the parents to do? We love our kids don’t we? This is a hard pill to swallow for any parent, and as a result their children have left their families and cut off all ties. But what does the word say about any sin…
What about our children having sex unmarried? The question now becomes do we trust God and deliver the word without thought that we maybe rejected by our children? What about those of us who allow our children’s or any family member to influence us into giving in to them? I don’t drink so do I allow drinking and drunkenness in my home because they are my children, No! This makes me guilty as if I had done it! If God says it’s wrong to be drunk with wine then why would I allow it in my home? am I going along with them in their drunkenness and other deviant behavior to keep peace? Then I may as well get a glass and share in their folly, because I have denied God’s word in this and allowed it to happen. Wow!
This is not an easy word to see or grasp, because some say that, “whatever they do they will do with or without me!” and they say, “I would rather let them do it here then elsewhere!” Sure we want them to be safe…but what does the word say?
It says, “come from among them!”(and their behavior) It does not say, except when it’s my family. Wow! Sin is sin no matter who does it. We are called to speak the word no matter who it is, but this is where the problems come. Because some of us haven’t been on good behavior in front of our kids and have done some stuff. So in all likelihood we don’t say anything because we don’t want to hear those inevitable words, “You did it!”
But God says, to “be bold and courageous,” So this is where the rubber meets the road.
Bear arms and speak the word….it will save them! Boy, this is a good word for all of us…hope it helps!

About Kay Dailey

The Dailey Grind Kayla Dailey, is a prolific writer whose aspirations include hope of encouraging those who face trials and difficulties in life through the written word. As a student of the word she writes, Kayla has earned a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Journalism and Mass Communication from Ashford University and holds a Master of Arts Degree in Organizational Management with concentration in Public Administration. Mrs. Dailey is an advocate for civic and community building issues, African American liberties, equal employment; as well as, advocacy against domestic violence for women, children, abortion and other issues people face.

Posted on September 17, 2012, in Children, Encouragement, Family, Marriage, Men, Religion and Spirituality, Women and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

