When Daddy Has Me Under the Knife


Zadkiel was said to be the Angel who prevented...

Zadkiel was said to be the Angel who prevented Abraham from sacrificing his son, Isaac. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Genesis 22:3-10
Many of us have heard the story of how Abraham was so obedient to the Lord and of how he sacrificed his son on the alter; a really notable occurrence because I can’t imagine it. I also see the symbolism in that it is a foreshadow of a loving God who sacrificed his own Son. However, I was directed to Isaac and his subjection to the knowledge that his own father was going to sacrifice him after his being told that God would provide.

I believe that I don’t have an idea of what that’s like to trust a father that much…to just lie down. Experience of my own human father has taught me not to trust any man. So now God says, “I want you to look at Isaac.”

Before I read it again I recalled of what I knew about Isaac that his daddy sacrificed him in place of an animal. Also, what sticks out in my mind is when the boy asked his dad where was the lamb after seeing the wood and the place of sacrifice there. I asked myself “what went through the boy’s mind as he knew that he was the one, and what did he think when he saw the knife? Did he just lay there and accept this as his fate? Did he try to run? There is nothing that tells me that his dad had to tie him up? I want to ask Isaac myself, “son are you ok?” “Don’t you see that your daddy has a knife?”

Whatever, I think about Isaac is not the case, because Isaac trusted his daddy and I see now what God is telling me…that my trust should be so deep that in the trial of sacrifice I am still, even though the situation is difficult trust Him…Daddy will provide the meal, Daddy will provide whatever it is I need if I would just be still.

To trust a father like that takes guts. It is not in the seen but in the unseen where faith right now works.

Today: God is saying “I want you to take a look at Isaac.” Be still.

Father, this word deserves attention that if we can just place our lives in your hand and know that you will provide…we don’t have to fight or squirm because you have the answer, you have the ram needed to make it work. We trust you Lord that life as a living sacrifice is the call of every man and woman called by your name. We give you praise that what ever we need is granted when we put our faith in you. In Jesus name we pray and ask it all. Amen.

English: Abraham embraces his son Isaac after ...

English: Abraham embraces his son Isaac after receiving him back from God (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

About Kay Dailey

The Dailey Grind Kayla Dailey, is a prolific writer whose aspirations include hope of encouraging those who face trials and difficulties in life through the written word. As a student of the word she writes, Kayla has earned a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Journalism and Mass Communication from Ashford University and holds a Master of Arts Degree in Organizational Management with concentration in Public Administration. Mrs. Dailey is an advocate for civic and community building issues, African American liberties, equal employment; as well as, advocacy against domestic violence for women, children, abortion and other issues people face.

Posted on September 6, 2012, in Life, Ministry, spiritual. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

