CHINA DISHES


CHINA DISHES

When I was a young girl Christmas was always a magical time. The colorful tree with it’s ornaments and bright lights was always a source of awe and excitement! We had some great Christmas holidays, and Mama would be sure to ask us what we wanted to receive. When we were older we had the opportunity to write our lists so that Santa could bring us our hearts desires, one Christmas I asked Santa for China dishes.

As I picked up the last of my gifts, I noticed that it was heavy, more weightier than all the others. I unwrapped it with the anticipation that I would receive what I expected there. Holding my breath I tore the layers frantically, and then I saw them, in all their pink and white essence; the most magnificent china dishes that I had ever saw and they belonged to me. I was so happy!

There was a price that came with my new china dishes, a warning attached to them, issued to me by my mother as she said, “Don’t break them!

My response was, “I’m not!”

And I didn’t! I played with those dishes day in and day out, drinking tea with my dolls. I always played alone with them for fear if I allowed others to play they would get broken.
I always remember mama’s words to me, “don’t break them!”

My answer, “I’m not!”

One day after playing with them I decided that I would go outside to play with my friends, so I boxed them up(I still had the original box), and placed them on my dresser to play with when I got back. When I returned seeing my dishes were still where I left them I was distracted by something in the hallway, it was my brothers playing and running in the house. All of a sudden and before I could stop them they crashed into my dresser and all my beautiful China dishes fell to the floor.

My brother said that he was sorry and I think that all in the house were in shock, because they knew that I had taken such good care of them; they saw my broken heart! I cried from the shear pain of seeing them there, and also from the echo of my mother’s words once again, “don’t break them!”

“You broke them!” I cried.

“Do not give what is holy to dogs, and do not throw pearls before swine, lest they trample them under their feet, and turn and tear you to pieces.” (Matthew 7:6).

Although I cried for days and was saddened by the demise of my precious China dishes, I survived. There have been other events in my life that have caused equally as much pain. We have to remember that we feel pain equal to the level we’re on. So for a small child even though the source of pain was her beloved dishes, her pain was still great for her.

Many of us as women have suffered such loss with no ill effects, and were able to move on and pick ourselves up with ease. But what about that relationship that didn’t work out, or that divorce that we didn’t know was coming. We’ve placed our lives in the hands of another who left our feelings and our lives on the edge much like those China dishes, we were vulnerable to tragedy. Sometimes we can trust others so much thinking that it will be ok to let our guard down with them only to be betrayed. This is what God wants us to see, that he is that constant source, that he is faithful and that he will never let us down if we will trust him with our lives.

We’ve been left with hearts broken into pieces and maybe you’re feeling that there is no way to make it this time. I want to tell you that if you trust God to fix this thing he can. So many times if one relationship doesn’t work out, we try to find solace in another.

“Do not give what is holy to dogs, and do not throw pearls before swine, lest they trample them under their feet, and turn and tear you to pieces.” (Matthew 7:6).

We as women(some) have been abused and trampled, raped, beaten, and have allowed ourselves to be treated shabbily by someone who was supposed to love us. For those of us who have relationships with God we have trusted him with our lives. Still others have turned a way from God and found ourselves in even worse danger, God wants you to know that he loves you dearly, beloved.

I wanted to share my memory with you, because every time I played with my dishes after that( the ones that were left) I noticed chips and cracks; there were damages(some) beyond repair. I encourage you as you trust and continue to walk with God to not allow your lives to become as those “China dishes,” broken (ever again!). God is great and his greatness deserves praise!

God bless you every day of your life…
Kayla

About Kay Dailey

The Dailey Grind Kayla Dailey, is a prolific writer whose aspirations include hope of encouraging those who face trials and difficulties in life through the written word. As a student of the word she writes, Kayla has earned a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Journalism and Mass Communication from Ashford University and holds a Master of Arts Degree in Organizational Management with concentration in Public Administration. Mrs. Dailey is an advocate for civic and community building issues, African American liberties, equal employment; as well as, advocacy against domestic violence for women, children, abortion and other issues people face.

Posted on June 2, 2011, in spiritual, Women. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

