A WOMAN, A LOVER, A FRIEND!


Woman, A Lover, and A friend (Ephesians 5:21-33).

I’m not too thrilled to hear or even look at this text. Why? One word, “SUBMISSION,” and to be honest it’s upsetting. I try so hard to do the things of God…but this thing has me going crazy. See I believe myself to be God fearing, and successful when it comes to overcoming. I guess that I had become haughty in a way…I don’t do drugs now, I try to the best of my ability to be honest, I have integrity(so what you see is what you get), and until now I’ve been obedient…Ladies I’ve missed the mark.

Don’t get me wrong…I’m not beating myself up, because I’ve been trying, but I’m extremely uncomfortable now! Instead of a nudge it’s a push that I’m getting…strong willed people don’t like it…oooh I need help!!!!

When I look at the text I see something a bit different than when I looked at it last, I see what God is saying to the husbands also, take a look:

Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless. In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. After all, no one ever hated their own body, but they feed and care for their body, just as Christ does the church— for we are members of his body. “For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh.” This is a profound mystery—but I am talking about Christ and the church. However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.

He has to love me, so that his job is even more difficult. This revelation has just brought to forefront and shown me that I’ve been very selfish, unforgiving, ungrateful, and sometimes just down right mean. Men have a hard enough time taking care of us and then to be met with all this…

“As Christ loves the church,” and it must be so hard for God to love us…difficult, hard headed, wanting to do our own thing, selfish… but yet he has unconditional love…

I’m going to do better Lord, pray for me Daughters.

Thank you God for allowing me to see it through your eyes..

About Kay Dailey

The Dailey Grind Kayla Dailey, is a prolific writer whose aspirations include hope of encouraging those who face trials and difficulties in life through the written word. As a student of the word she writes, Kayla has earned a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Journalism and Mass Communication from Ashford University and holds a Master of Arts Degree in Organizational Management with concentration in Public Administration. Mrs. Dailey is an advocate for civic and community building issues, African American liberties, equal employment; as well as, advocacy against domestic violence for women, children, abortion and other issues people face.

Posted on May 20, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

